Contact Us

Beck’s ‘Song Reader’ Finally Getting Released in Album Form

Autumn de Wilde

Beck‘s 2012 release ‘Song Reader,’ a collection of sheet music, was an interesting concept, but it also left many fans wishing they could have heard the set’s 20 songs as a proper Beck studio album.

Two years later, and just months after the release of the acclaimed ‘Morning Phase,’ Beck is finally giving those fans their wish — sort of. ‘Song Reader,’ the album, will feature studio versions of Beck’s sheet music, but mostly performed by the singer-songwriter’s many famous friends, including Jeff Tweedy, Jarvis Cocker, Jack White and Norah Jones. Beck himself contributed only one track, ‘Heaven’s Ladder.’

There are also a handful of surprises on the album’s guest list. Tenacious D funny man Jack Black tackles ‘We All Wear Cloaks'; British avant-pop duo Sparks interpret ‘Why Did You Make Me Care?'; and Colombian rocker Juanes might give ‘Don’t Act Like Your Heart Isn’t Hard’ a Latin twist.

‘Song Reader’ comes out on July 29. Here’s the full tracklist:

1. Moses Sumney – ‘Title of this Song’
2. Fun – ‘Please Leave A Light On When You Go’
3. Tweedy – ‘The Wolf is on the Hill’
4. Norah Jones – ‘Just Noise’
5. Lord Huron – ‘Last Night You Were A Dream’
6. Bob Forrest – ‘Saint Dude’
7. Jack White – ‘I’m Down’
8. Beck – ‘Heaven’s Ladder’
9. Juanes – ‘Don’t Act Like Your Heart Isn’t Hard’
10. Laura Marling – ‘Sorry’
11. Jarvis Cocker – ‘Eyes That Say “I Love You”’
12. David Johansen – ‘Rough On Rats’
13. Jason Isbell – ‘Now That Your Dollar Bills Have Sprouted Wings’
14. Marc Ribot – ‘The Last Polka’
15. Eleanor Friedberger – ‘Old Shanghai’
16. Sparks – ‘Why Did You Make Me Care?’
17. Swamp Dogg – ‘America, Here’s My Boy’
18. Jack Black – ‘We All Wear Cloaks’
19. Loudon Wainwright III – ‘Do We? We Do’
20. Gabriel Kahane with Ymusic – ‘Mutilation Rag’

Beck himself did perform ‘Song Reader’ live in a series of three special concerts, including one at the Rialto Theatre in Santa Cruz, Calif., last year. Here’s his live version of ‘Sorry,’ which British singer-songwriter Laura Marling will handle on the ‘Song Reader’ album.

Subscribe to KATS: THE Rock Station on

Next: Everything You Need to Know About Beck

Best of KATS

Recommended for You

Best of the Web

Leave a Comment

It appears that you already have an account created within our VIP network of sites on . To keep your personal information safe, we need to verify that it's really you. To activate your account, please confirm your password. When you have confirmed your password, you will be able to log in through Facebook on both sites.

Forgot your password?

*Please note that your prizes and activities will not be shared between programs within our VIP network.

It appears that you already have an account on this site associated with . To connect your existing account just click on the account activation button below. You will maintain your existing VIP profile. After you do this, you will be able to always log in to using your original account information.

*Please note that your prizes and activities will not be shared between programs within our VIP network.

Please fill out the information below to help us provide you a better experience.

(Forgot your password?)

Not a member? Sign up here

Sign up for Kat House quickly by connecting your Facebook account. It's just as secure and no password to remember!

Sign up to have exclusive Kat House contests, events, coupons, presales, and much more delivered to you for FREE.