Anvil have put in the work and soon fans will be able to reap the rewards. The veteran metallers are on their way back with their 17th studio album, Pounding the Pavement, which will be released Jan. 19 through SPV/Steamhammer.

Singer/guitarist Steve "Lips" Kudlow and drummer Robb Reiner have settled in with bassist Chris Robertson now appearing on his second disc. In fact, the band was so thrilled with the experience from their last album that they immediately launched into work on Pounding the Pavement. "The songwriting process started immediately after the work on our previous album, Anvil Is Anvil, had been completed," Kudlow explains. "So our thoughts instantly turned to the future again. After Anvil Is Anvil had been cut, everybody knew what we had just delivered and what Anvil's future should sound like."

But don't look for an exact repeat, with touchtones of their past also seeping in. The singer adds, "Of course we always allow inspirations from earlier recordings to seep in, but always with an emphasis on evolving the characteristic Anvil sound. Lots of fans keep asking us to play the way we did in the so-called good old days. That's why I try from time to time to pick up on that exciting feel of our older material. Mind you, it's always exclusively about the basic atmosphere of that time, never about copying an older song."

The band worked on the album at Soundlodge Studios in Rhauderfehn, Germany, calling on Jorg Uken to produce. As for the title of the disc, it's fitting for the working class band who rejuvenated their career with the Anvil! The Story of Anvil documentary. Kudlow states, "I feel nothing could describe the way we've been working for the past forty years better than Pounding the Pavement. Anvil have tried for four decades to earn enough money to survive and continue to make music."

The album will be released Jan. 19 in Digipak, 2LP gatefold colored version, through downloads and streaming. Check out the track listing and artwork below and see where the band will be playing on their 2018 European tour here.

Anvil, Pounding the Pavement Artwork


Anvil, Pounding the Pavement Track Listing:

1. Bitch in the Box
2. Ego
3. Doing What I Want
4. Smash Your Face
5. Pounding the Pavement
6. Rock That S--t
7. Let It Go
8. Nanook of the North
9. Black Smoke
10. World of Tomorrow
11. Warming Up
12. Don´t Tell Me (bonus track)

Loudwire Music Awards Tickets Available Now!

Loudwire Music Awards Poster

More From 94.5 KATS